1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Duckling question

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Jordanlybeck, Jan 2, 2017.

1. Jordanlybeck

Jordanlybeck Out Of The Brooder

Jan 5, 2016
    I have a pair of ducks one mallard and one what I was told was a Rouen. The hen was laying up a storm so I decided to put some of her eggs in the incubator. Fast forward to today when they all hatched. To my shock only a few of them look like the little chipmunk ducklings I was expecting. What do you think would cause them to be completely different than their parents?
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    I am not a genetics expert. But a thought occurs to me. One or both of them could have a little of another breed, or sometimes there is variation in coloring.

I have Khaki Campbell (I was told) but she is a little heavy for a KC and has the Rouen eye stripe, so I am guessing that of her four grandparents, three were KC and one was a Rouen. She is gorgeous.

3. Jordanlybeck

Jan 5, 2016
    Is it possible to get cross breeds from the feedstores? Since they get them direct from hatcheries?

4. lomine

lomine Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 7, 2015
    Peyton, CO
    Cute ducklings and handsome looking ducks.

Your drake doesn't look like the typical Rouen drake. What did it look like as a duckling? Do you know what hatchery they're from?

5. Jordanlybeck

Jan 5, 2016
    Not sure which hatchery he came from but he looked like any other Rouen duckling.

6. lomine

lomine Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 7, 2015
    Peyton, CO