Ducklings and chicks peaking at my feet.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by dragonsmenageri, Aug 5, 2013.

1. dragonsmenageri

dragonsmenageri Out Of The Brooder

Jun 29, 2013
    Kent/Auburn Wa
    So I am pretty new to both raising bird and to BackYardChickens. I got my first adult birds last summer, they are doing pretty well and one of my hens went broody.
    She hatched out 8 healthy chicks.Then I ran across some one looking for homes for 8 Cayuga ducklings. Then another lady wanted one of my ganders in trade for 8 more ducklings. So now I have 16 ducklings and 8 chick all in a large chicken coop. When I enter the coop to feed them my feet get attacked by the entire group. Obviously I can not wear open toe shoes. I am worried about allowing this behavior to continue unchecked. I had 3 duckling I raised this spring that did this same thing now every time I have the feed bucked they are weaving in and out between my feet and trying to get in to the feed bucket no matter what kind of feed it is. I weigh over 200lb so this is not safe for me or them. I try really hard not to steep on them the adults and the 6 week old chicks but I am still stepping on there adorable little ducky feet all the time thankfully the chicks and chickens are better at staying out from under foot.
    My question is how can I train them out of running rite up to my feet if I can at all. I know they associate me with food even though I am not normal in the coop when I feed them.

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    [​IMG] Maybe you could toss food to them over the fence for awhile until they forget about you, the feed bucket and your toes. Or wear full shoes or boots for a few days to confuse them.

3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas and [​IMG]! Great to have you with us!!

4. liz9910

liz9910 Overrun With Chickens