Ducklings have pipped shells, but havent seen much activity since...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by astump, Dec 24, 2013.

1. astump

astump New Egg

Dec 24, 2013
    I'm new to all of this bird stuff. I got some ducks two years ago - but sadly, they all got picked off during the winter. Last Spring, I got more however and was determined to raise some ducklings myself. I've grown to love them so much that I want more than just 5! lol Like I said - I'm new to all of this, so I'm working off what I've read online and in books....but 4 of my eggs are due to hatch on Christmas...but have begun pipping their shells already. Two days ago (on Day 25), I heard some chirping while I turned them for the last time and upon closer examination - I noticed some very small holes in two of the eggs & a new crack (not just a little whole) in a third egg. When I got home from work last night, three eggs actually had noticable "pip holes" (I think that would be the correct terminology. lol) and the one that had the crack - was bigger! I've been up in the night to check on them ever since I noticed activity...but haven't seen much from the three eggs with pip fractures... However, the one in the egg that was cracked must be a determined little duckling, as it was going to town this morning before I left for work. I know it takes 28 days for ducklings to hatch - but I'm worried that I'm doing something wrong. The one duckling is working to get out of its shell - but the others don't seem to be moving much. I hear chirping quite often...but I'm not sure if its just the one or if its all of them socializing. I actually read last night that I can check for life by holding the eggs. The forum said that if they are still alive - I'd feel like a peck/knock from inside (which I felt in all of them), but why have they pipped and not done anything since (for about a day now)?? I read that they typically will hatch within 24 hours of pipping, but mine haven't! :(