Ducklings with yellow crust on top of their feet

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by scarletjane36, Jul 27, 2014.

1. scarletjane36

scarletjane36 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 27, 2014
    Hi I'm new to ducks,
    I have three ducklings that are about three weeks old. They just have a darkening crust on top of their feet. My husband took a piece of it off and underneath the skin looked fine. The bottom looks pretty good too as you can see from the pictures. They have no problem walking a fact proven by my husband trying to catch them. But I'm worried and would like to know what is the best way to proceed, clean their feet, remove it, and use antibiotics? or is it something that requires a vet?

We keep them outside during the day in an 8ft x 10ft, 8ft high cage with no floor only the grass that is growing, we move it every 2-3 days from location (not an easy task). At night they sleep inside in a straw filled box, which we also change every 2-3 days. They have a small bath they can wash in which we clean daily. I also have two goslings and I'm worried it could be contagious.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. scarletjane36

Jul 27, 2014
    Well since I haven't received any answers I will try and get in contact with the vet. It is hard since there are no vet hospitals I can take them to. I have to see if a vet will make a house call.

3. ten chicks

ten chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2013
    MB,Canada
    You are sure it is a scab and not dried feed/other food that they have stepped in and now it has dried/hardened on feet? Wash feet and see if it comes off. No indication of sores under scab,tissue is healthy looking? Is it just between webbed toes?

Last edited: Jul 28, 2014
  4. scarletjane36

Jul 27, 2014