Ducklings

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by sophiesocks, May 1, 2017.

1. sophiesocks

sophiesocks New Egg

May 1, 2017
    Hello I am a newbie here,
    Hope someone can help, I've recently adopted 3 babies who's feathered mumma got killed by a fox,
    I've had them a few weeks now, not sure how old they are but they have chick crumb changed 4 times a daily and fresh water,
    One little boy/girl has a bauld patch on her side.
    Any ideas please [​IMG]

2. 6sablehens

6sablehens Out Of The Brooder

Mar 27, 2017
    Hi, they look like they're doing well! A good idea for a brooder is a bathtub with a heat lamp on one end so if they get cold they can warm up as they don't have their mum. We used a bathtub as our brooder! We put tarp over it (except for the drain area) so they wouldn't slip over. We then put hay below the heat lamp, at the opposite end of the plug. Because ducks are so messy with their water we put their food and water near the drain so when they spilt their water it would run down. To clean we lifted the tarp and rinsed it.

Make sure the chick starter isn't medicated. If you can get duckling crumbles that would be better because it has the right amount of protein needed for ducks but if not I think you can use unmediated chick starter. For their water you can use a dish or lid. Ducklings love playing in their water so you could use a deeper container but make sure don't get stuck. You can let them swim in a kid pool or sink but always watch them and make sure they can get out. An old paint tray is good for water because it has a deep end and a shallow end.

You can give them small pieces of lettuce as a treat but not too much - It doesn't have a lot of nutritional value.
    Another treat they love corn and peas, you can give this to them when they get bigger.
    You can also give them kale, pak choy, watercress, berries, grapes, banana, cabbage.
    Don't give them any avocado, citrus, nuts or salty food.