Ducklings

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by BlueBirdChick, Aug 13, 2010.

1. BlueBirdChick

BlueBirdChick On Vacation

Aug 13, 2010
    Absarokee, Montana
    Just ordered 6 ducklings. A st. run not its hatcheries choice. So that should be interesting. Anyway this is my first time raising ducklings. Anyone got suggestions all are welcomed. [​IMG]

2. ScaredOfShadows

ScaredOfShadows Chillin' With My Peeps

Bedding I say use newspaper at the very bottom then straw on top, sprinkle some baking soda in there too. That or buy a few 1$ towels from the dollar store and use them as the bottom, have enough for when you take out the dirty ones and can put down 'clean' ones till change time again. Each time you clean brooder (every day if not 2X a day) wash them in the sink scrub them clean, and let them dry. Use a plastic top of some kind (like a plastic shoe box top or tote top) and put food and water in, this will help catch the water the splash , and keep the bedding dryer. [​IMG]

Good luck!

Ducks are amazingly cute!

3. askjcm2005

askjcm2005 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2010
    San Diego
    Peas! Peas! and more Peas!! LOL

Mine grew up getting more and more scared of me. A couple weeks ago I was told to try peas and you would think they are my best friend now. Everytime they see me they run over to me... I am not sure how young you can start feeding them peas but they sure do LOVE them!

4. SugarDuck

SugarDuck Chillin' With My Peeps

May 12, 2010
    Lamar, AR.