ducks in river?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Poultry parent, Jun 25, 2016.

1. Poultry parent

Poultry parent Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm new to ducks and my ducks are about 10 weeks old now and i was wondering how they would do if they had access to a river? It's not enclosed, and they do have some free range time everyday and they are always put up at night. I just wanted to know if they would come back? I'm pretty sure they will but there is a nagging voice in the back of my head saying they won't. Any help from anyone who has given ducks access to a river that's not enclosed is appreciated!

2. Gray Farms

Gray Farms Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2016
    NW Missouri
    I'd wait until they are 5-6 months old or so. And feed them only in the evening so that they'll have a good reason to come home in the evening.

1 person likes this.
  3. BarrerasDucks

BarrerasDucks Out Of The Brooder

Mar 24, 2015
    Corbett, Oregon
    [​IMG]

My 2 newest. I have a year round Creek that feeds into a river. They were trained with a bag of peas. Before you put them down their train them with peas or give them peas once a day. Only a handful each. Then after a month of peas as treats introduce meal worms only occasionally. When they are at the river they will come right out when you shake the bag. Don't abuse treats or you'll be swimming to get them. I learned the hard way with my others.

1 person likes this.
  4. Poultry parent

thanks you! i was just worried about them going off!

5. BarrerasDucks

BarrerasDucks Out Of The Brooder

Mar 24, 2015
    Corbett, Oregon
    They are actually good at staying home. After they become adults 20-24 weeks they tend to have a routine. Depending on the time of day I can find all my ducks because they have a set schedule on when to be where. It's kinda funny.

Lastly put them up at the same time and let them out at the same time. They will know when it's bed time and come home.