1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Ducks laying fertile eggs

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by TpKe, Jun 22, 2016.

1. TpKe

TpKe Out Of The Brooder

Aug 30, 2015
    Wales
    Hi guys, i'm fairly new to poultry keeping only ever kept about six turkeys before. They were organic norfolk blacks. Wow they are noisy, i really didn't like the turkeys as they have a high mortality rate, eat lots, and the males were NOT friendly and they really didn't like the rain.So no more turkeys not for a while anyway.

We have recently (about a month ago) bought some ducks, a Aylesbury drake, one Aylesbury duck, one pure khaki campbell duck and a khaki cross aylesbury duck. We have planned to hatch their eggs and eat them when they are 10 weeks on a organic free range system. They have access to a stream and a baby bath turned pond. When do you think they will settle down and lay FERTILE eggs. The Aylesbury's were with another three aylesbury's so we were going to buy the lot but three got hit by a car :( but neither the Khaki or the khaki x have ever been together. Also do you think the khaki campbell when crossed with a Aylesbury will create a suitable carcass worth butchering?
    So when will they lay fertile eggs, and will a Khaki cross aylesbury provide a suitable carcass, worth butchering.
    Any help welcome as new to poultry keeping.[​IMG]

2. dotknott

dotknott Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2016
    Rhode Island
    My Coop
    The aylesbury is a good meat bird, khakis not so much. The cross should be decent, but not quite what you'd get with uncrossed Aylesburies (?)

Your birds should be laying by 20 weeks. Some lay earlier 14 or 16. Once they're laying regularly crack one open and look for the blastosperm.

1 person likes this.
  3. Welshies