ducks laying

trishamonks

Chirping
9 Years
Aug 8, 2010
hi i
i know this might sound silly but does anyone know at what age a call duck may start laying at and do i have to seperate her from my 5 call ducks when she is doing this {my call ducks are 4 weeks younger than her}

thank you
trish

hi Trishamonks.. I am new to ducks but I have 4 call ducks.. 2 boys and 2 girls... they were hatched March 15th... the gal I bought them from told me that sometimes calls can be alittle immature when laying and may lay later than most ducks..like more around 7 months... 1 of my girls tho did started laying a week ago...
smile.png
I put out free choice oyster shell since I dont have my ducks seperated (and she chows it down) and I put out a nesting box with grass and straw which she uses.. My other girl has NOT layed yet..anyway she was exactly 5 months ,which is normal for any duck....and NO they are not seperated.. she just goes in her nesting box and the others pay No attention... how old is your call??

hi hatti gun
we bought her in a pet store about 5 weeks ago and the girl there said she tought they were about 7 or 8 weeks at the time so by my reckoning she should be 12 maybe 13 weeks i made a mistake on my last post i said i have 5 other call ducks i meant to say 5 runner ducks im sorry for this
this is her here

Are you talking about the white duck? Because she looks a lot older than 12 weeks... and not like a call.. But I've never had a call duck, so maybe I'm mistaken.
Do you mean the grey one behind?
hu.gif

Also you don't need to seperate ducks at all if ones laying. None of those ducks look younger than 12 weeks, though to be honest.
Good luck with your ducks
smile.png

hi bird crazy yeah the white one she is supposedly 12 weeks and the brown one behind is one of my runners they are only young but yes i agree really big ill post more pix as soon as i can get them to stay still long enough lol

here is one i managed to get as they were runnin away hahaha