1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Ducks or Chickens?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by millefiori, Mar 22, 2017.

1. millefiori

millefiori New Egg

Mar 22, 2017
    I am very new to chicken and duck raising and have not yet decided whether to get all chickens, all ducks, or a mix of both. I have all the supplies necessary for raising ducklings or chicks but am struggling with the decision as to which to buy.
    I live in a place which has cold winters which can get into the -10's and I am attracted to the cold-hardiness of ducks. I also have an extensive organic vegetable garden and have read the ducks are great for eating bugs off of plants while chickens will tear them up. We have a large natural pond and a coop area with plenty of shade. My primary worry with ducks is getting too many drakes. Our local farm supply store only offers unsexed ducks and given that I want them for egg laying and have read about males over breeding, I am worried that I will be unable to control the genders of the ducklings.
    Chickens, while they tear up gardens and are less disease resistant, come already sexed and offer predictability as well as consistency. Chickens also appear to be less messy which is always a bonus.
    Any advice on which way to go? My local farm supply store is getting a shipment of ducklings and chicks today and I am hoping to pick up my birds this weekend! Thanks for any advice!

2. CascadiaRiver

CascadiaRiver Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 12, 2014
    Pacific Northwest