Ducks won't mate?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by FranktheDuck, Mar 19, 2017.

1. FranktheDuck

FranktheDuck New Egg

Mar 19, 2017
    Dallas, Texas
    Hi there! I'm new to this, so bear with me. 3 years ago, we got a week old pekin duck (Frank) and when he was about 4 months old, we rescued a khaki Campbell companion for him of around the same age (Charlie). We were told he was a female but he turned out to be male. Frank and Charlie bonded and everything worked out well (although they would take turns "mating" with each other on occasion). About 3 weeks ago, however, Charlie passed away unexpectedly. Frank was absolutely destroyed. He wouldn't make any noise or eat or drink, so we rescued a year old female blue swede (Sweet Dee) for him. They bonded immediately and Frank has become aggressive in protection of her (he chases the dogs and tries to attack them when they get close to her). All seems to be going well but there has been no mating. So my question is....when will they mate? And outside of that, when will she start laying eggs (if ever).

I should add, she is most definitely a female. Charlie didn't have his drake feather when we got him, which is why we were uncertain.

Any insight is very appreciated!

2. Ducks4us

Ducks4us Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2015
    North Idaho
    well they could very well be mating when you arent watching.... or maybe she wont let him mate with her yet.
    some ducks i have read prefer to mate in water.. thats more natural for them. do they have a pool?
    are you wanting to incubate eggs? sometimes when adult hens are moved it can take a month or more for them to settle in and start laying again

1 person likes this.
  3. Poultrylord

Poultrylord Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 19, 2016
    Hollis Center, Maine
    Maybe get another female to even out males and females!

4. FranktheDuck

FranktheDuck New Egg

Mar 19, 2017
    Dallas, Texas