Ducks....

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by featherfurmom, Feb 2, 2016.

1. featherfurmom

featherfurmom New Egg

Feb 2, 2016
    Over the last two years my DH and I have been renting a house with a pond in the backyard. Everyday two Swedish Blues and a Muscovy (bffs) would come to my house, at the same time, for treats and attention. They were the best part of my day after spending it with crazy kids (im a teacher). Now that we are moving into our forever home I want to have my own pet ducks. Trust me, I have thought about loading Larry the Muscovy and his Ladies up into the moving truck and taking them with me but I am sure they would be miserable being away from their forever home and the neighbors would kill me. =p However, I can't imagine my life without ducks as part of the family. I am moving into a suburban neighborhood without a pond and we will be living on 1/3 acre of land. What is the best duck breed to get for this? I don't want to annoy my new neighbors with a lot of quacking (like the Ladies) but the Larry's can fly and I dont want to clip wings. I also have an African Grey and I hate clipping his wings and really don't want to do this to my new babies if it can be avoided. Do Scovies fly off? I have an outside cat but he has been around the Ladies and Larry so much and just lays there and watches them without amusement. I would love a Pekin but they are loud like the Blues. I really love Swedish Blues because they are so funny and have so much personality and are so happy to please (even the wild ladies) but I am sure my neighbors wouln't appreciate the "quaaaacccckkkk quack quack quack" as much as I do. Is it really that bad when they are domesticated? Scovies are great and I think I am probably the only person I know that LOVES the way they look and wag their tails but they have super sharp claws. What would you recommend? Again, remember my house will be on 1/3 acre between two neighbors. I have a smaller backyard but with room with a coop and a s