Ducks ?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Cats Critters, Apr 27, 2008.

1. Cats Critters

Cats Critters Completely Indecisive

I'm considering them. Whats a good egg laying breed?
    Can they live with my Chickens?
    And any thing else you can think of! [​IMG]

2. Henrietta23

Henrietta23 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 20, 2007
    Eastern CT
    Cat's Critters :

I'm considering them. Whats a good egg laying breed?
    Can they live with my Chickens?
    And any thing else you can think of! [​IMG]

Hi Cat's. I'm new to ducks myself and have done some reading. Storey's Guide to Raising Ducks is an excellent resource. One of the best laying ducks are khaki campbells. I brooded mine separately from my chicks. The ducklings get everything wet! I have just moved the ducks outside and I do have them in their own pen. My two adult hens free range and I'm not ready to let the ducks do that yet. Not sure if I'll keep this arrangement as is or not. I rarely do!​

3. GwenFarms

GwenFarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2008
    I don't know if your looking for eating eggs, or hatching eggs, but either way you can't go wrong with muscovies. They lay better than other other duck. I currently have pekins, but I think we are going to get back into muscovies for eating eggs. They are great to bake with.

4. swampducks

swampducks Overrun With Guineas

Feb 29, 2008
    Barton City, MI
    Indian Runners are very good egg layers. I have one female and she's a little egg laying dynamo. Mine is sitting on a nest and she is still laying an egg nearly every day somewhere outside the nest.

I remember, I read it in a recent issue of Backyard Poultry Oct/Nov 2007. (Of course, it's an article not online)

here's an egg synopsis per year:

Campbell 250-325
    Runner 150-300
    Pekin 125-225
    Muscovy 50-125
    Rouen 35-125
    Mallard 25-75
    Call 25-50

5. GwenFarms

GwenFarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2008