Dude looks like a lady.....

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by chickensarethenewblack, Jul 19, 2010.

1. chickensarethenewblack

chickensarethenewblack Out Of The Brooder

May 27, 2010
    Framingham, Ma
    We currently have eight hens. Two of these eight ladies were very young when they joined our flock (9 weeks). Now, at ~20 weeks old, one of the little pullets is larger than the other, and has become (quite recently) very aggressive to some of the other older chickens. I also thought I heard some crowing from the backyard when I came to free them of their nightly imprisonment. I know that these two are light Brahmas, but don't know if they are Bantam or standard sized.

Can anyone tell whether I've got a dude in disguise here? I'm a little new to the chicken business, and as a result, can't tell if this rooster looks like a lady (or vice versa).

http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/4809411080/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/4809411022/in/photostream/

Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
  2. KDOGG331

KDOGG331 Chicken Obsessed

Jan 18, 2008
    Massachusetts
    I don't really know much about these chickens but sorry, it kind of looks like a roo to me, there is already a noticable difference in the size of the combs, the comb of the bird in question is already much bigger and much redder so i think its a roo, especcially if it is so aggresive and you thought you heard crowing, so sorry but i think you have got a dude in disguise here, sorry... [​IMG]

*edited to change question to crowing, whoops... lol

3. HorseFeatherz NV

HorseFeatherz NV Eggink Chickens

Yes, you have a cockerel/roo. First picture he is on the left, second picture he is the chicken on the bottom. Pretty birds [​IMG]

4. Bunnylady

Bunnylady POOF Goes the Pooka

Nov 27, 2009
    Wilmington, NC
    I seem to be looking at saddle feathers and hackles on your bird, so yep, I think you've got a he-bird there.

5. tuesdays chicks