Duel Roos

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Roy Rooster, Jun 17, 2011.

1. Roy Rooster

Roy Rooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2010
    Tennesee Smoky Mts.
    Hi [​IMG]

This is my first time keeping chickens.

I have discovered that I have 2 roos, and 14 hens. [​IMG]
    So I have a few questions for those who have walked this road before

1.) would it work out to keep both
    the roos or would they just end up fighting?

2.) will they work out the alpha/beta rooster thing?

3.) If I need to get rid of one which one should I part with...

~ Roo 1 does not like to approach me, when I go into the pen he
    heads for the back corner and waits till I leave.

~ Roo 2 is very personable and loves to be held.

They are 6 wks right now. In your experience, which one would make the better roo when
    they get older?

Thanks Fellow BYCers [​IMG]

2. stellacat

stellacat Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2011
    Not to sure, you could always do 7 hens and a roo in 2 different cages if you want to.
    I would probably go for roo 2 myself but I have had no experience with them so don't rely on me [​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 17, 2011
  3. Shannon33

Shannon33 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2010
    Eastern Shore, VA
    I have had two roos that grew up together live peacefully with each other, and about 8 hens. One took the role of alpha and they just worked out their place in things. I got rid of one because he became mean to humans, but he was fine with the other bird. If you are going to only keep one I would wait until they are older to decide. Their personalities can change a lot especially when hormones kick in, lol.

4. Roy Rooster

Jun 9, 2010
    Tennesee Smoky Mts.
    I only have one chicken coop with a pen. So there is not way
    that I could split the roos up into two different pens.

That would be a great idea if I had more room. [​IMG]

5. NewToFarming

NewToFarming Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2010
    Millersburg, PA
    Quote:X2!!