Dumb Question About Fertilization

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by gfcm, Apr 20, 2011.

1. gfcm

gfcm Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2011
    Florissant
    The 6 hens I just bought were housed with a Roo. So I built an incubator and thought we would try hatching some. The Roo and 5 of the hens are Black Sex Link. The other hen is an Americana. Only four of the hens are laying and all the eggs are brown. Candling is done a 3-5 days after placing the eggs in the incubator, correct? I'm new to this and really don't have a clue! I figured the eggs they lay will probably be fertile for the first two weeks? How old does a Roo have to be to be fertile?

Thanks, in advance!

2. jvls1942

jvls1942 Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2008
    wausau,wisconsin
    Quote:brown eggs are difficult to candle, at 3 to 5 days, almost impossible to tell anything.. that is too soon.. more like 10 to 12 days is better..

I assume you are coasting on the former rooster for your fertility? You do not have a rooster? after a week, the fertility will keep dropping.. I see what you are trying to do.. worth a try..

I always guage a rooster by the pullets of the same breed.. If the pullets start laying eggs at 18 weeks, the roosters should also be ready at the same time..

3. rebelcowboysnb

rebelcowboysnb Confederate Money Farm

The age thing is really hard to say but if hes the same age as the hens an they are laying then he should be. Yes it takes around 2 weeks for fertility to die off.

4. dragonjaze

dragonjaze Out Of The Brooder

Oct 2, 2010
    I would crack a few eggs to check and see if they are fertile or not, rather than relying on incubating them to see.

There's a sticky somewhere with excellent pictures of what you are looking for in fertile eggs.

5. jvls1942

jvls1942 Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2008
    wausau,wisconsin
    Quote:cracking eggs is an option if you have a good supply of eggs. in this case, the eggs are extremely limited..