Dumb question but I need answers lol! Ducks started laying eggs!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by aduckstolemyheart, Aug 17, 2010.

1. aduckstolemyheart

aduckstolemyheart Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 23, 2010
    Missouri
    Alright, this is my FIRST time with a hen, and my duckie girl started laying! I found a she had been laying (4 eggs in total) in a blue plastic box my daughter left outside. lol One is alot bigger and they are an off white, with light brown spots.

So my questions are such:
    1. How do you know if they are fertilized? Would they be fertilized or not?
    2. can you eat them either way?
    3. how quickly do you have to catch them for them to be good to eat?

Any other tips and pointers, please let me know! I am a first time girl duck mom!
    lol

2. Hillbilly Hen

Hillbilly Hen Overrun With Chickens

Apr 11, 2009
    Newaygo Michigan
    if you have a drake then it is a good chance that they are fertile. You can eat them just like you do chicken eggs but they are excellent for baking

3. aduckstolemyheart

Mar 23, 2010
    Missouri
    So hypothetically you could try to incubate and raise them too? Not saying I want to, just asking lol.

4. aduckstolemyheart

Mar 23, 2010
    Missouri
    Also, we have NO idea how long they've been there, there were four in total. Would they be good still...or??

5. katharinad

katharinad Overrun with chickens