Duration of egg laying life, etc

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Sabz, Oct 30, 2013.

1. Sabz

Sabz Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2013
    Quebec, Canada
    Hi guys,

I have a few general questions today. I am sure it depends on the breeds, but I would a general idea on:

- How much time does a chick lay eggs before it retires?
    - How long can we wait before we eat a chicken? I heard that if it has layed eggs for too long, we can't eat it.
    - If I buy young chicks and I find out that I have a rooster, can I eat it?

Of course I will not kill it and prepare it myself as I have no knowledge of how to do that and wouldn't want to get sick, I would bring my chickens to a butcher probably..

I am in Quebec so I was thinking of adopting chickens that do OK in the cold - like Chanteclerc, Cochin or Brahma.

2. 4 the Birds

4 the Birds Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2010
    Westfield, Indiana
    Generally your hens will lay the first year and take a break during the molting process. They will then lay another year before their production drops way off. Many people will cull their hens after 2 or 3 or 4 years of age and replenish the flock. Of course you can always let it stay in the flock if you want it to have a LONG retirement. You can cull older chickens and the meat will be fine to eat. Buy pullets from a Hatchery and not straight run. If one or more turns out to be a rooster then you can cull it from the flock when full grown. Usually it is hard to tell if you have a rooster until it starts to crow or you notice other traits at several weeks of age. Hope this helps!

Last edited: Oct 30, 2013
  3. Sabz

Mar 27, 2013
    Quebec, Canada
    Oh ok, it helps, thanks!

I also learned two new words in english, cull and molting ;)