Dust baths and grit for chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by rosinsk1772, Mar 10, 2014.

1. rosinsk1772

rosinsk1772 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2014
    Tiverton, RI
    I have 6 three week old chicks. I am new to raising chickens. I only have been giving them chick food, but should should I be also giving grit at this age? Also, can I hold off adding a dust bath until I put them in the coop?

2. cafarmgirl

cafarmgirl Overrun With Chickens

They don't technically need grit until they start eating anything besides their chick starter. And yes, they can wait until they go to their coop for a dust bath, although they'll enjoy one very much any time now! Mine are always very enthusiastically dust bathing in their shavings in the brooder early on and go crazy when they first hit the dirt outside when they are about 3 weeks old.

3. rosinsk1772

Mar 4, 2014
    Tiverton, RI
    So with the outside temp right now somedays hitting 55 mine are three weeks old is it alright to bring them outside?

4. cafarmgirl

I probably would not at those temps. Where I live it's usually warm when I raise chicks in the late spring or fall and I'll take them outside at that age for short periods of time on warm, sunny days only.

5. rosinsk1772

Mar 4, 2014
    Tiverton, RI
    As for the dust bath should it go in the coop under the coop or outside? Also how often does it need to be changed

6. cafarmgirl

Mine just make their own dust baths in their run and in my barn, I've never had to provide anything for bathing other then access to the outdoors. But if you live someplace that is covered in snow much of the winter you might provide them a dust bath someplace where it will stay dry and just refill as needed.

7. Aacre

Aacre Chillin' With My Peeps