Dwarf Pygmy goats

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by btaylor2003, Dec 10, 2012.

1. btaylor2003

btaylor2003 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 8, 2012
    I have two goats that are suppose to be pregnant. I posted this once already but I am new at this and someone told me I posted at the wrong spot and to try here. We bought them about four months ago and the guy we bought them from assured us they were pregnant. They looked pregnant then and still did up until a few days ago. Actually so much so that we have been going out several times a day to check for babies. They are getting bigger bellys, their faces even look like they are bigger(if that's even possible?) and they are bagging down more and more each day and their utters are getting bigger as well. Friday we went out at separate times and that evening we both started questioning if they either one were pregnant. Then we bought a new younger female on Sunday and brought her home. Now our older two possibly pregnant goats are acting odd? They are sniffing the younger one and sort of acting like a billy would with one who is on heat? I know what this means with cows and other animals, but not goats? Could this mean they aren't pregnant? Please help!!

2. Je33ieg

Je33ieg Out Of The Brooder

Dec 10, 2012
    Clemson, SC
    Hard to say if they truly are pregnant, but it would actually make more sense of their actions towards your new goat if they are pregnant. If they are pregnant, they could be fearful that the new goat will, in some way, harm their babies when the time comes and it is making them distressed. They could also be showing the newbie who runs the show.

Good luck.

3. nok13

nok13 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 8, 2012
    hi, i m new here, and actually not from the states (or wherever this forum is), but have raised goats for about 10 years/// never add new animals to two other animals if u are also new to it all... however,