dying chicks-one every day

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by in2chickens, May 1, 2009.

1. in2chickens

in2chickens Out Of The Brooder

Apr 24, 2009
    Norco, CA
    [​IMG] This is my first time. I got nine chicks a few days ago and have lost one every day. The chicks are two weeks old now. I have the temp at 90. I have call the lady I got the chicks from after loosing 2 and she said that she is having a problem too. The day after I picked mine up she had 4 dead the next morning. She said that she had started her's on Sulmet and suggested that I do the same. I started mine on the Sulmet two days ago and have since lost 2 more. The chicks are not very spunky. If they are not up to eat they just stand around and sleep. I NEED HELP! I have no idea what I'm doing and I do not want to loose any more. Suggestions please.

2. aidenbaby

aidenbaby Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2009
    Lochbuie
    My first reaction is maybe they are too hot. But after having read the post again, my second guess is that there may be a virus or something.

I'd definitely give them electrolytes in their water to help perk them up and maybe consider getting something like poly-vi-sol (human infant vitamin drops), too.

3. chickenwhisperer123

chickenwhisperer123 Whispers Loudly

Mar 7, 2009
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    I had a recent problem with some chicks I got, but it only lasted a few days.

I know how sad it is when you have to watch your very first chicks die....
    It probably isnt something you are doing wrong...
    Vitamins and Electrolytes are probably the best thing you can do.
    Maybe if you gave some more symptoms people could help you out more.

Good Luck!

4. Sequin

Sequin Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2008