Dying chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by calichickenlove, Mar 3, 2014.

1. calichickenlove

calichickenlove New Egg

Mar 3, 2014
    Hi, I'm new to raising chickens. Today I bought 2 black australorps (<-spelling?) chicks and when I got them home and put them in their little space with heat light, fresh bedding, water and starter they looked "tired". They didn't cheep much and just laid face down. One died a few hours later and the other one can barely walk and will fall and lays on his face and I'm really afraid she will die too. What should I do? Do you think they were sick when I bought them? I'm going back to the feed store where I got them tomorrow I just don't know if I can bare to watch another little one die :( HELP!

2. boskelli1571

boskelli1571 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 7, 2011
    Finger Lakes, NY
    Hi there, new chicks need to be 'mothered'. Did you dip their beaks into the water? They really need a bit of direction as far as drinking/eating goes. Your 2nd chick may be too far gone by now, best of luck.

3. calichickenlove

calichickenlove New Egg

Mar 3, 2014
    Thank you for the advice! I'm going to try that now :)

4. MargoTexas

MargoTexas New Egg

Feb 27, 2014
    Sorry to hear about your chicks, I'm pretty new to this process also I have about 20 chicks and they'll doing great two rod to iwhen you get more be in touch I'll be glad to help you first read about chicks first ideal poultry will send you more chicks and they will tell you to give them grovel and stick each chicks head in it it just sugar water with vitamins the electro lights help them please let me know how your girl makes out sugar water in fine for now 2 table spoons per quart good luck

5. pawtraitart

pawtraitart Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2007
    Idaho