dying ducks

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by mocloy, Feb 22, 2013.

1. mocloy

mocloy New Egg

Feb 22, 2013
    My wife and I have always had several ducks. A mixed bag so to speak, we have Peking, Rouan, Buff, and one that has a grey head and a mix of grey and white wings on a buff body, so not sure what kind that is. My Peking ducks seem to do very well and all the ducks are fat and healthy. They enjoy a spring fed pond of about an acre in size and we supplement the diet with whole corn that we buy at the local feed store. We have had our share of predators; coyotes mostly, but have also had fox and bobcat problems, Owl and Chicken Hawks. Installing predator lights have eliminated those problems but have seen coyotes after dawn when the lights don't work and still have problems with Owls and Chicken Hawks but they go mostly for the smaller chickens.

Sorry this is rambling but this is my first time on this site and wanted to give as much info as possible.

My question is as follows:

Last year we lost 4 of the peking ducks and so far this year one of the pekings has died and now a second one is apparently sick and waiting to die. What happens is they separate from the other ducks and won't associate with them in any way. They become "loners" and simply go to the oposite side of the pond to wait to die. Can anyone tell me what they think the problems may be and why this is happening to what appears to, a layman, perfectly healthy fat ducks?

Thanks in advance for anyones help.

Mo Cloy

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Glad you have joined us on the Duck Forum, Mo Cloy.

There are a number of things that can go wrong. Could be viral, bacterial, fungal, hidden injury, parasite load.