Dying Flock

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by nouveauchick, Jan 10, 2013.

1. nouveauchick

nouveauchick Out Of The Brooder

May 9, 2012
    Northern NJ
    I have lost 2 hens this month. I only have one left. She appears to be fine. She was the biggest one and seems quite strong. There is no appearance of mites of any kind. Is there something I should do to protect my last girl? This is my first time with chickens and I am unfamiliar with medications.

I also don't know how well my last bird is going to do on her own. Won't she be lonely? I would like to get her some company. I looked at Meyers and they ship pullets ( I do not have the equipment for chicks). Has anyone had any experience with them? Also, because there is only one bird will the pecking order adjustments still take place? Do I have to gradually introduce the birds?

Thank You!

2. CottonGinWaste

CottonGinWaste Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 26, 2012
    Mobile, AL
    What happened to the others?

3. RhodeRunner

RhodeRunner Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 22, 2009
    Ashtabula, Ohio
    What happened to your hens? If you fear it is an illness, then wait at least a month of full health, before introducing a new hen. Also, deworm your flock if you haven't.

After, a month of full health you can look for a flock mate for your girl. I would suggest looking around locally (BYC and Craigslist.)

4. nouveauchick

May 9, 2012
    Northern NJ
    I don't know what happened to them. :-( One died about a 3 weeks ago, and we lost one yesterday. They seemed fine until they died. Our last hen also seems fine, although maybe a bit bored without her friends. The weather hasn't been too terribly cold and I have a ceramic warming plate underneath their nesting box to help warm the coop. I don't see any sign of mites. I guess maybe they could have worms, although the hen we have is pretty active. Can I buy dewormer at the feed supply store? Should I try an antibiotic?