1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Ear lobe Issue ?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by crazychickhen, Apr 17, 2016.

1. crazychickhen

crazychickhen Out Of The Brooder

Dec 31, 2015
    Hi there ! I was wondering if anyone could help me treat and diagnose what's going on with one of my Hen's ear lobes (anatomically I believe this is what I'm looking at as I'm new to chicken motherhood). Her left ear is firm and almost appears to be cystic in nature. She is fractious if I try to touch it when she's my most docile bird. Not sure if it's painful ? Thanks in advance ! [​IMG]

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    It looks like she may have an ear infection, which could be from mites, or bacteria or fungus. If a vet is an option, you could get her seen and an antibiotic. If not, I would get some QTips and either saline or hydrogen peroxide, and clean it out. Then you can fill the ear with plain Neosporin or Bacitracin ointment. Look for mites on her skin as well.

1 person likes this.
  3. crazychickhen

Dec 31, 2015
    Thank you so much! I will try and treat conservatively but I will most likely end up at the avian vet if not improved over the course of a few days. Is this painful? Should I supplement Turmeric or any pain medication to her in the mean time? THanks

4. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio