Early Christmas Present!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by joedie, Oct 30, 2010.

1. joedie

joedie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2009
    SW Indiana
    My DH told me to get an incubator for myself for Christmas and to order it now. I was on it that day and my Genesis Hovabator arrived yesterday!. I didn't want a big one like a Sportsman because I won't be hatching that many at a time and I've never done this before. Now I have to look at it all winter and decide what to hatch first, turkeys, chickens or guineas. I also would like to get heritage chickens and have to decide which ones. Hummm, decisions, decisions? [​IMG]

2. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    Fun decisions. Congrats.

Find a breeder with some lovely Dellies.

Bargain or hinkj have some of those lavender orps. or speckled sussex or leghorns....
    Peachick has those beautiful blue laying ameraucanas.
    There are some awesome silkie breeders that aren't far from Indiana....
    Breeders with FBCM's abound now.

Yup. Fun decisions....

3. joedie

Mar 17, 2009
    SW Indiana
    Quote:Mahonri, by Dellies do you mean Delawares? That was one of my thoughts but I'll have to do more research on them. I have FBCMs that I got this year from a breeder. I might try them on the first hatch.

4. SimplySplendidSilkies

SimplySplendidSilkies Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2010
    Adairsville, GA
    I got my Christmas Hovabator about a month ago and just last night set if for the second time. My silkie decided to start laying, so I wanted to check fertility. I said no more haching till the spring but if they want to lay I will set them. What kind of Hovabator did you get? I have the 1602 with fan and auto turner. I am trying to get a used 1588 as we speak. I have a little giant on loan.