Early hatch out

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by HellyNelly, May 1, 2016.

1. HellyNelly

HellyNelly New Egg

Apr 30, 2016
    Hi, I'm new to chicken keeping and to this site. Incubated 3 cream legbar, 3 exchequer and 6 cross/variety eggs in janoel 48.
    Day 19 and 2 cream legbars hatched, no sign of piping from other eggs, dry incubate until day 18 lockdown then humidity 76 roughly.
    Are the chicks ok to stay in incubator until other eggs hatch only they are moving the eggs about like footballs? Thank you

2. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    Hi and welcome to BYC [​IMG]

It is normal for the already hatched chicks to kick the other eggs around. Opening the incubator may adversely affect the hatching of your other eggs. chicks can safely stay in the incubator for quite a long time, as they do not need to eat or drink for the first few days after hatching.

Check out the Hatching 101 article in the Learning Center, it is very helpful - https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/hatching-eggs-101

3. HellyNelly

HellyNelly New Egg

Apr 30, 2016
    Thanks for reply. Will check out article you suggested. No change in hatched numbers yet but still only day 20. :)

4. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - good luck with your hatch!

CT

5. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

6. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Often the cheeping and movement, inspire the others to begin hatching. Sending good hatching vibes your way [​IMG]

7. HellyNelly

HellyNelly New Egg

Apr 30, 2016