early signs of gender in mixed breed chicks?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by dftkarin, Jun 20, 2009.

1. dftkarin

dftkarin Songster

Jun 27, 2008
    I have 7 completely mut chicks from a chicken farm far away from my house - (someone gave me the eggs and my broody hatched them) and they are cute but don't look anything like the pure breed chicks I had last year - so I have no idea what to expect with these cuties. What should I look for to determine there sexes? Are there universal generic signs that a chick might be a male or female? Besides the eventual crowing? More red combs, different types of feathers? I'm new to chickens and only bought sex pullet chicks last year.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 20, 2009
  2. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    I think you've got it down. Size of legs, redness of comb, type of tail feathers... the first tell tale signs of a roo.

3. Gonzo

Gonzo Songster

May 25, 2009
    Southwestern, In
    I agree with Mahonri! But you could still post pics...We Love babie pics! [​IMG] [​IMG]

4. chicky gal1

chicky gal1 Songster

Apr 5, 2009
    PA
    Type of tail feathers...

I think the roos grow their tail feathers quite slowly. Someone correct me itf I'm wrong please [​IMG]

5. ClairedeLune

ClairedeLune Songster

Apr 13, 2009
    Denver, Colorado
    I thought feathering in more slowly was also a sign... am I wrong? I have an unknown gender blue cochin/ee chick, not really sure.

6. elmo

elmo Crowing

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    No idea about the gender question, but those are nice looking chickens you have there. I've read about "hybrid vigor," sometimes the "mutts" really are healthier and stronger.

Mine are hybrids, too. One is a Serama/D'Uccle cross, the others are Serama/OE Game bantams.