Easter Egger gender: one of these things is not like the other

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by ladyrsanti, Apr 20, 2012.

1. ladyrsanti

ladyrsanti Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2012
    Michigan
    I have three, three-week-old Easter Eggers and I'm new to raising chickens. You guys are amazing at what you know. I can only hope to gain an ounce of your knowledge!

I read a dozen consecutive pages of posts on the informational thread about sexing Easter Eggers, only to be doubly uncertain. What I do know is that one of my EE's is completely different from the other two, in patterning and color somewhat but mostly shape and personality. So I'm fairly certain I have two pullets based on their round shape and blunt tails, but the third is keeping me guessing (and guessing *is* half the fun). The third, Chip or Chiparoo if it's a roo (same chick as avatar) is bigger, bolder, scragglier, sleeker, etc. So is she just ahead of the others or is she a he? See piccies below. I don't think I even need to label them, you'll know who I'm talking about. Again, they're only three weeks old. They don't have feathers on their heads yet and no discernible comb features either. What do you all think?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Pele

Pele Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 25, 2011
    Boise
    Could we get some side pics of them too? And comb pics? So far, from what I can see, the only suspicious one is the first. The other two have hen coloration, but side pictures would confirm that.

3. Coop Deville

Coop Deville Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 19, 2012
    I bought two EE pullet chicks with the classic duckwing coloration, as in your last two. One clearly was faster to mature and more dominant/confident than the other (and dominant over the other chick breeds in the brooder as well), but she is 100% hen. You might just have a fast-maturing hen.

4. ladyrsanti

Apr 19, 2012
    Michigan
    I hope that's the case!

5. ladyrsanti

Apr 19, 2012
    Michigan