Easter Egger or Ameraucana? Male or Female BPR?

Exotica

C'est La Vie
Aug 16, 2015
Baldwin Park, California
My Coop
My Coop
Hello! Hope you're having a wonderful day today and staying cool wherever you are :)

I'd like to start by saying that I'm completely new to poultry keeping and I'm amazed by how sweet this community is!
I am truly blessed to have stumbled here!

That being said, I'm sorry but I have two questions! My first is that I purchased a Barred Plymouth Rock chick from the
feed store 2 weeks ago (she is about 2.5 - 3 weeks currently) since I live in Southern California and we don't really have
any farms/breeders down here. Athena is starting to develop a little red in her comb! Does this mean "she" is a he?!
Here are some pictures of her:

I'll preface my second question by saying that the guy at the feed store messed up and originally I wanted four Australorp