1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Easter eggers info

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ChickGirl1617, Feb 25, 2015.

1. ChickGirl1617

ChickGirl1617 New Egg

Feb 25, 2015
    Hi! I am new to chickens and wanted to know if Easter Eggers are a good choice. Please put info about them and pictures. I was thinking about Easter eggers or Dominiques and finally settled on Easter Eggers... So thanks!! [​IMG]

2. LoveThemBirds

LoveThemBirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2015
    Petting Buffy Like a Dog
    A easter egger is a good hardy breed.Their peacomb prevents frostbite,so you do not need to worry about it.Good layers (not to keep for pure egg production),but it is also a pretty good pet.

3. mymilliefleur

mymilliefleur Keeper of the Flock

Nov 4, 2014
    East Tennessee.
    Hello and Welcome to BYC! I love both my Dominiques and Easter Eggers, they are both great breeds, and very cold hardy. Here are some pictures of my birds:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    Sorry for all the pictures. I don't have any of my Dominiques though.

1 person likes this.
  4. justplainbatty

justplainbatty Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 30, 2007
    emmet MI
    EE's are good breeds for very cold temps. They are late bloomers, the last in a mixed flock to start laying. They lay lovely shades of green or blue eggs but are less reliable for production than say, RIR's or BO's. I have had some relatively calm EE's and some who are absolutely terrified of being handled despite being hand raised. I do enjoy them though and always have a few in my flock. [​IMG]

5. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Welcome to BYC![​IMG] I'm glad you joined our community.