Easter Eggers

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by tyler2740, Feb 20, 2012.

1. tyler2740

tyler2740 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 18, 2011
    small town
    Hey guys, im new to the EE's and i was wondering when breeding them what determines the egg color the offspring will have? Thanks!

2. OkChickens

OkChickens Orpingtons Are Us

Dec 1, 2010
    Owasso, Oklahoma
    EE's tend to have a greenish blue, Olive, or pinkish brown eggs. It is pretty much the luck of the draw. If you breed Green eggs to green eggs you will usually get green. Some might lay a brown egg. If you put a Dark Egg Rooster (like a Welsummer or Maran) over a EE Hen you will usually get Olive/ Turquorise Eggs.

Nate

3. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    Olive / Turquoise? Apologies but there's a big difference between those. If you get turquoise your dark brown layer/carrier isn't pure. [​IMG] Now yes some F1 "olive egger" pullets may lay random off-colored eggs but far as I've known, none end up that color.

With males it will be hard to say, but the egg color in offspring is determined with the parent's genetic makeup for egg color. It is easy to tell with hens because you see it, but with roosters it in most cases can just be judged with theory on comb type, shape, and size/tightness. Otherwise it's a wildcard.

So, a blue laying hen x small pea combed male = likely blue layers, but you might get green

Green laying hen x single combed male = likely brown, a few green layers

Brown laying hen x pea combed male of whatever size, long as it it doesn't largely flop to one side = nice green eggs of varying shades

Dark brown laying hen x small pea combed male = nice olive green eggs.

Now if you know the rooster's parents that really helps.

2 people like this.
  4. chicken fever

chicken fever Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 30, 2012
    dallas, tx