Eating Disorder? Our chick is a "pig"!

Discussion in 'Online Poultry Show' started by vickiecampbellusa, Mar 10, 2011.

1. vickiecampbellusa

vickiecampbellusa In the Brooder

Jun 3, 2010
    North Carolina
    First of all... I apologize for where this is submitted. I thought I was starting a new topic, and after publishing/posting... I saw that it ended up in the Online Poultry Show. I'm still learning... please forgive me!

I would appreciate some comments and/or recommendations about a chick we recently adopted... which has become quite the "Chubby Chick".

FYI...
    We rescued three (3) - 4-wk old chicks about a month ago. We do not know their breed or their sexes, but the original owner thinks there are 2 females and one male.
    He named them... Barley, Sunny & River. They were all the same size when they arrived... and all white... so we "color-coded" them so we could tell one from another. [​IMG]

Right away, we noticed Barley (with a splash of green on the tail feathers)... not only ate with it's siblings... but acted as if it was starved.
    When the others finished, Barley remained at the feeder... ate for a while... standing... but then, after a minute more or so... SAT DOWN in front of the feeder, and ate some more!

At first it was kind of cute [​IMG] but after a month of watching Barley grow, and grow, and go from walking to "waddling"... we are a bit worried.
    Barley often stops to "rest." Compared with the two others, Barley spends much more time sitting... so we are now concerned about it's appetite being an eating disorder?????
    We do not think Barley is sick, as it has normal digestion and appears to be happy. Barley has always been more docile and less energetic than its siblings.
    (My theory is that maybe Barley is a female... and River & Sunny are little cockerels.)

But............ Barley is now "BIG"... maybe 6-8 pounds! Today, she/he was limping a bit... so maybe there is a physical problem which has been there all along?