Eating each other's feathers

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by sandmonkey2, May 20, 2010.

1. sandmonkey2

sandmonkey2 Hatching

May 20, 2010
    I have a pen with 7 hens, all 1 year old. They keep eating each other feathers. Most of them are half bald. I had to remove one hen and put her in a different area because they created a sore on her back and they kept picking at it. I have had one die from a similar injury that i didn't catch in time. Now they are looking worse for wear. Some are loosing their neck feathers and loosing weight.
    I'm new to this whole raising chicken thing. Am I not feeding them enough? Are they needing a supplement? I have received different opinions about this. I need all the help I can get. I enjoy raising them but not having much luck. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

2. brendapa

brendapa Songster

Feb 2, 2010
    Chester County, PA
    What kind of feed are you feeding them and what is the protein percentage?

3. AndreaS

AndreaS Songster

Mar 5, 2010
    Hurdle Mills, NC
    Also...how crowded are they? Do they free range or are they in a pen all day? I noticed 2 of my chicks eating feathers that had fallen off (they weren't pulling them out) I checked the protein % on the bag of new feed I had gotten them, and sure enough......it was lower than their old feed. I started giving them a scrambled egg a day and switched their feed. No more feather eating after that.

But I think chickens will do this also if they are bored and enclosed in a smallish area. If they are in a run, try adding some interesting stuff for them. Branches to climb on, heads of cabbage cut in half to Peck at.

Seperate the one who is close to being injured, or use blue kote on the affected areas. I've not used it, but have heard that it works well. If one of them ends up bloody the others may Peck her to death. They see red and just go for it!
    Good luck.

Andrea

4. nancy1zak

nancy1zak Songster

May 27, 2008