eating upside down

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by ctyankey, Jun 14, 2008.

1. ctyankey

ctyankey New Egg

Jun 14, 2008
    [​IMG] OK, I'm new to this whole chicken thing and this might be totally normal. I bought a house that came with a chicken coop so I thought I would give it a go. I have a variety of 12 week old chicks, two of which are golden polish. One of them has started a very odd behavior and I am concerned that it may be inefficient enough that she may starve. She began eating "upside down" this week. She sticks her head between her legs and grabs food behind her while her head is upside down. She is good at it but unless there is a lot of scratch I'm afraid she will starve. This is the only way she eats now. Is this normal? I thought maybe her tophat was obstructing too much of her forward vision so I trimmed it a little around her eyes but she is still doing it. Her sister is eating normally as are the other 17 chicks. Help! I need to know if I need to intervene some how. Thanks

2. EweSheep

EweSheep Flock Mistress

Jan 12, 2007
    Land of Lincoln
    I had a polish like that and she didnt live long. So I put her down.

Maybe others have a solution to this.

3. HorseFeathers

HorseFeathers Frazzled

Apr 2, 2008
    Southern Maine
    You need to talk to CoyoteMagic. She has a chicken with this problem, I think... Hey, Coyote, get over here!

4. HorseFeathers

HorseFeathers Frazzled

Apr 2, 2008
    Southern Maine
    Quote:^This is Tessie, quote taken from Hen Contest by justino15.

5. ctyankey

ctyankey New Egg

Jun 14, 2008