EE Chickens 24 weeks Old no eggs.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by claychickens, Sep 16, 2010.

1. claychickens

claychickens Out Of The Brooder

Sep 5, 2009
    Clay Alabama
    I can't believe these EE's are still holding out. Is this the norm?

2. Hockeychick

Hockeychick Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 6, 2010
    Warren County, NJ
    I had 5 EE's, and the 3 started laying around 20 weeks. A 4th started around 25 or 26 weeks, and I still have 1 holdout. I figure they are 29 weeks old today. Ginger is my hold out, but I have noticed that her comb has started to grow and darken in the last two weeks. She has a dark brown beard and muffs that are also starting to lighten and take on more gold/grey. This happened with her sister a few weeks before she started to lay, so I am keeping my fingers crossed.

This is my first time with chickens, but I have read that the EE's can be late bloomers. I have 42 birds, and Ginger is the ONLY 1 not laying.

3. EggsForIHOP

EggsForIHOP Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2010
    TEXAS
    Don't feel bad - everybody told me it was the norm when I was stressing over eggs at 18 weeks and mine held out until 24 weeks - which was this week and then BAM!!!! On Monday I got my first GREEN EGG and ANOTHER ONE came on Wednesday! PATIENCE GRASSHOPPER! I will think green and blue thoughts for you! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] And soon I know you too shall one as beautiful as ours [​IMG]

4. joemwm

joemwm Out Of The Brooder

Aug 15, 2010
    yes EE's are not early layers I have 5 at 23 weeks two have just started {3 eggs} one the comb it's not even start changing yet still small and pale so that one is still a while off. others on this site have said 25 weeks before their's started too lay

5. buzymom13

buzymom13 I run the Alien Chicken Asylum

Apr 20, 2010
    [​IMG]