EE Gender help, please :-) Oops, maybe not EE after all!

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Libchicks, Oct 30, 2010.

1. Libchicks

Libchicks Out Of The Brooder

Oct 27, 2010
    Hello everyone [​IMG] I've been lurking around for a while now, admiring everyone's chickens and all the wonderfully helpful advice of the forum members. I'm new to the world of chickens and managed to pick one of the most difficult breeds to sex! I have two EEs that no one seems to be able to agree on, and would love some opinions from people who know more than I do [​IMG] I'm pretty sure one is a rooster, the other I'm not so confident about.

The breeder said both were hatched around July 10, so they're around 16 weeks now. The father was a pure wheaten Ameraucana and the mother was a cross of pure wheaten and black Ameraucanas. I did learn from all you helpful forum folks that the cross breeding makes them EEs and not official Ameraucanas.

This is the whole crew. For size reference, the yawning Australorp in the background just started laying this week (First eggs! So exciting!) The two I am wondering about are in front, Stu has the reddish feathers and Olive(r) has black ones. Stu has some sickle type tail feathers coming in and Olive(r) has a pretty good comb and wattles, but they both have skinny little legs and no crowing yet.

[​IMG]

Side view
    [​IMG]

Front view
    [​IMG]

Thank you for any help!! [​IMG]

Edited to change subject, also more pictures below!

Last edited: Oct 30, 2010
  2. punky rooster

punky rooster Awesome

Jul 21, 2010
    the black one looks like a boy
    other looks like pullet
    and [​IMG]

3. Kenshan1

Kenshan1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2010
    Bonney Lake, WA
    Quote:I agree. The comb & waddles are pretty big on the black. I also see long pointy neck feathers on the black.

Shannon

4. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop