EE Markings?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by ceeceeholt, Oct 12, 2011.

1. ceeceeholt

ceeceeholt Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 17, 2011
    Alabama
    I have spent some time going through the threads of EE's, colors, markings, combs, etc! I read that black and white usually mean boy, but partridge(ish) feathering is girl. Now I am kind of confused on 3 of mine. I have a black EE that is 10 weeks, has goldish markings on neck, but I think she has partridge(ish) feathering.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Then 2 days ago I looked at Baby Ruth, she is orange/gold with dark in the back, but her comb is a single pea but now very red, feathers do not look partridge(ish)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last is Butterfinger now has some weird curly feathers on the top by her tail feathers, goldish in color with black, but she does have the partridge(ish) feathers

[​IMG]

I think maybe I'm just reading to much and since I'm new to chickens, I'm seeing Roo everywhere!!
    Thanks for any help you have for me!

2. CelticOaksFarm

CelticOaksFarm Family owned, family run

Sep 7, 2009
    Florida - Space Coast
    Need head shots of the combs, but so far I see nothing that screams roo.

3. DMRippy

DMRippy Pallet Queen Premium Member

May 18, 2011
    Nashville
    Quote:x2 we need to see the combs on Baby Ruth and Butterfinger. I see all pullets but if Babyruth has a red comb, probably a roo.... pics......

4. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    Those are all girls. Redder combs means they're getting ready to lay.

5. bloom_ss

bloom_ss Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2011
    Spokane Valley, WA
    The only one I am slightly unsure on is Baby Ruth. The others are definitely girls. Baby Ruth is most likely a girl, but I'm not good enough at this to say 100% on her.