Eeeek!

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Tala, Jan 5, 2010.

1. Tala

Tala Flock Mistress

I was out cleaning the coops. I just happened to notice a large bird land on a privet branch at the fence line out of the corner of my eye. I'm not good at recognizing birds, and probably wouldn't have recognized it if it didn't sit there long enough for me to study it. A YOUNG HAWK!!!
    It was smaller than my chickens (even the 3 month olds) and only just noticably larger than an ordinary bird, so I guess it was pretty young. It may not have seen me since I was inside the coop squatted down, or maybe it just didn't care. It flew over, inspecting the flock and right over my dog too, just over the cars and landed on the electric wire at the street! My dog is no chicken guardian that's for sure!

Just grand! I was hoping this wouldn't happen. [​IMG]
    I really have no way to protect the entire back yard from hawks, and apparently even dogs don't scare this one. Must be a city hawk [​IMG]

Now I'm worried about them in the daytime, but honestly I don't know if I could confine them to a run. I LIKE having them in the yard. I highly doubt turkeys or guinies would go over well with the neighbors...
    Maybe I need to get some bushes installed PRONTO so they can at least have a chance to hide!!

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    I saw on here where someone put an old satellite dish on cinder blocks to give his flock a place to hide from hawks. It does not have to be bushes. Could be something else. What ya got laying around?

3. jhm47

jhm47 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 7, 2008
    If the hawk was that small, it is a non issue. Probably a sparrow hawk, and they mostly eat insects and mice.

4. The Chicken People

The Chicken People Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2009
    Smithville, Mo
    I Heard To Hang Cds From The Trees To Scare Away The Hawks!

5. Tala

Tala Flock Mistress