Egg bound? Prolapse?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by sebocat, Nov 24, 2012.

1. sebocat

sebocat Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2012
    Sterling, AK
    I'm relatively new to this game. Chicken on the ladies this am, and have a bit of an emergency.

My 24 week Americana has quite a bit of blood, some white stuff ( poo?) and either a prolapsed vent or egg binding issue. Can't tell, too much blood. ( a little goes a long way)

What to do??? Help!

2. sebocat

Apr 27, 2012
    Sterling, AK
    Eeew.... Got a soft shelled egg out, vent looks horrid...soaked her hiney in warm water and put her back in the coop. Will check in an hour....

I think we are ok for now. I think that was her first egg. Do I need to be worried past this, or is the worst over..??

Last edited: Nov 24, 2012
  3. casportpony

casportpony Team Tube Feeding Captain & Poop Inspector General Premium Member Project Manager

Jun 24, 2012
    My Coop
    If she is still prolasped, you should clean it and put her by herself so the others can't peck at it.

4. willowbranchfarm

willowbranchfarm Chicken Boots

Oct 3, 2011
    Virginia
    My Coop
    x2 the others will peck at her and could pull her ovaries and other stuff out.

5. chickypoo4

chickypoo4 New Egg

Aug 1, 2010
    I am by no means an authority on chickens and their emergencies, however, from what I have read the first response seems to be the warm bath(soak chicken in warm water deep enough to immerse vent area)
    next; determine f you are dealing with a prolapse(would be just soft tissue) or an egg.
    If you think it is a prolapse , I would apply gentle pressure with a warm moistened towel to GENTLY return to place. I have read an ointment of preparation H helps to decrease the inflammation.
    If you think there is an egg up there(and geez I am kind of dealing with the same thing myself and can not bring myself to do this)