Egg bound quail?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Snozzle, Apr 20, 2012.

1. Snozzle

Snozzle Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 16, 2011
    Tri-Cities Tennessee
    I am new to quail. A few weeks ago I was selling a chicken and a small group of coturnix quail were offered to me and I couldn't resist and I enjoy them so much that a few days later I added several more. I have a few jumbo browns, 1 tuxedo, 1 red, 1 texas white and a pair of Cinnamon's and a bunch of eggs cooking in the incubator. I learned how to vent sex them which was easy since they are adults. I ended up with 8 females, but I have been getting 7 eggs every day and one of my girls was very poofed up and walking low to the ground this morning, not looking sick, but rather uncomfortable. Usually they all come running when I bring them food and treats in the morning, but she didn't, but went inside their house instead. I checked again a few minutes later and this time I couldn't even tell which one it was and everyone was running and pecking, no one looked bad, but no eggs were laid since then. I was wondering could she be egg bound? What would it look like if she was? I have never had an egg bound chicken either, so I have absolutely no experience with it.
    Also what kind of food is best for them? There isn't much info on it that I could find. Right now I am feeding a mix of Dumor poultry layer crumble mixed with parakeet food and meal worms as treats, plus whatever grass and bugs they find in their run.
    My last question is about the eggs. I have been getting cream colored eggs with dark brown spots, but there is usually a large egg that is a greenish color with light brown spots. All the girls are jumbo browns except one and she is a cinnamon color, would that be her egg or does that even have anything to do with their own color or rather age or other factors?
    Thank you for any help!

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop