1. virgogypsy75

virgogypsy75 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 15, 2013
    CT
    Hi there! So one of my girls seems to be egg bound but I'm not quite sure. She lethargic, stands around puffed out, eyes closed. She's eating a bit, had some oyster shells earlier and is drinking. We checked the outside of her vent to make sure she didn't have sticky butt but it seemed all clear. She does have runny poop though. I took a couple pics. It happened with another one of my chicks during the summer and she ended up passing it fine. It's winter and cold and I'm so worris about her! Any advice??

Happy Thanksgiving to all by the way! :)[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. kelck22

kelck22 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2013
    mukilteo, wa
    Can you feel an egg?

3. virgogypsy75

Apr 15, 2013
    CT
    I don't know, I've never done that. Do u mean like stick my finger up the vent? This is my first year with chickens so I'm still learning.

4. kelck22

kelck22 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2013
    mukilteo, wa
    Sometimes you can feel it from the outside. I have heard of people oiling up their fingers and feeling, with gloves of course. I have also heard feeding them oil.

Last edited: Nov 28, 2013
    1 person likes this.
  5. realsis

realsis Crazy for Silkies

Jan 17, 2013
    California