Egg cleaning?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jmass, Jan 14, 2009.

1. jmass

jmass Out Of The Brooder

Aug 29, 2007
    Marion
    I am currently just cleaning my dirty eggs with water. Is there and cleaners that would be better to use or is water safe enough? I live in the delta and it is hard to keep the eggs clean in the winter with all the rain and mud. I am also having a problem with three hens roosting in the nesting boxes creating poop on the eggs.

2. bockbock2008

bockbock2008 Why do they call me crazy??

Dec 30, 2008
    Southwest Indiana
    I'm also new at this but from what I've read you're not supposed to wash eggs unless absolutley necessary. It washes off a coating that keeps them fresh. Fine sandpaper was recommended to me. Mabey some of the pros on here can come up with something better!!

3. Eastins Eggs

Eastins Eggs Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2009
    Ceresco Nebraska
    Eggs can be cleaned with water warmer than the egg about 120 degrees. Eggs cannot be soaked in water to clean for example soaking in a 5 gallon bucket.

4. lengel

lengel Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 30, 2008
    MA
    I've always washed mine in very lightly soapy warm water using a paper towel to wipe them off. My concern about not washing them would be that cracking them against a bowl could introduce salmonella into whatever I was cooking.

I'll be interested to hear what other have to say.

5. texasbartrambaby

texasbartrambaby Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 3, 2008
    Tulia, Texas
    I was told to use Oxine by someone -- don't remember the "mix" but supposedly its a kill all, end all to little buggies and safe for the eggs. [​IMG]

6. Eastins Eggs

Eastins Eggs Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2009
    Ceresco Nebraska
    A lot of small producers use unscented automatic dishwasher soap. Wont foam up.

7. dancingbear

dancingbear Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2008
    South Central KY