Egg color question

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Wisher1000, Nov 24, 2010.

1. Wisher1000

Wisher1000 Bama Biddy

What color eggs will be laid by a cross between an EE roo and a Blk SL hen?

2. dsqard

dsqard Crazy "L" Farms

Jun 11, 2010
    York PA
    It depends on what color egg the rooster hatched out of and what was crossed to make the SL hen. Could be brown, green, blue or olive colored.
    ETA - I am assuming that you mean what colored egg the chicks of this crossing would lay. The SL hen will lay whatever color she lays no matter what rooster you use.

Last edited: Nov 24, 2010
  3. Wisher1000

Wisher1000 Bama Biddy

[​IMG] ROFL! Yes, I know that my brown egg laying girls will always lay brown eggs - I'm a newbie, not a dingbat! But of course, you don't know that! I fully understand you feeling you had to make sure!! Too funny! I guess I was looking for generalities since I don't know what color the roo hatched out of (bought as day old) and don't know about my girls, either. They were sold as "Black Sex-Links" from Ideal through a retail store. I'm trying to decide if I want to keep the roos or start with something I can better predict. Thanks for the reply, and the good laugh this morning!![​IMG]

4. dsqard

dsqard Crazy "L" Farms

Jun 11, 2010
    York PA