Egg eater or just testing?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by camjac, Dec 16, 2008.

1. camjac

camjac Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 22, 2008
    Northeast Ohio
    I got my very first egg yesterday, a very tasty small brown egg and layed in the nest box too! I checked them first thing this morning and there was nothing. Around noon I went out and found a small pinkish brown (very light) egg on the ground in front of the pop door. It had three peck marks in it. Does this mean I have an egg eater (there was nothing missing just three small holes)? Does an egg eater eat the contents of the egg or are my chicks just curious as to what someone left in the coop?

2. EliteTempleton

EliteTempleton Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 9, 2008
    SW MI
    I'm not experienced enough to answer your question directly, but if the egg is cracked they will eat them to avoid attracting predators. Or so I hear(read). Maybe it was cracked?

3. camjac

Jun 22, 2008
    Northeast Ohio
    No, it had three distinct peck marks in it. But the yolk and the white were all still inside. I am going to start checking the coop every hour or two to see if I can catch and egg that was just laid and stop anything before it starts. Since I am new to all of this, I have read about egg eaters and that you have to cull them to get them to stop. Since I only have 5 chickens I really don't want to do this and will keep a good eye on them so I can stop any bad behavior, if possible. Actually, I am headed out there now to see if I got any more "presents"!

4. digitS'

digitS' Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 12, 2007
    ID/WA border
    It's real encouraging that at least one pullet is using the nestbox. An egg on the floor is just not "right."

New layers seem to have a problem knowing where and when this egg-laying will occur. They can also start this floor-thing later in life.