1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Egg laying and nesting box question...

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Chocobroc, Nov 28, 2010.

1. Chocobroc

Chocobroc Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 13, 2010
    Eastern, NC
    I am new to the chicken world. Bought my girls the first week in August. They are 17 weeks old today so I figured I need to be on the watch out for eggs from this point on. I cleaned out their coop yesterday completely including their nesting boxes because they have been sleeping in them. When I put the new pine shavings back in, I did not put anything in the nesting boxes hoping that either they'll stay out of them, sleep elsewhere and make their nests when its time to lay... Is silly of me to think this way?

1. Should I do anything to their nesting boxes? Leave them empty, add pine shavings and golf balls, hay instead of pine?? [​IMG]

2. I know it varies, and I'm on the impatient side but when should I typically see my first egg?

[​IMG]

They are all different breeds (see below) so I'm sure they all lay at different rates, but I'm just getting so excited!!! I love all the advice I get here on BYC!

2. fdehaven

fdehaven Out Of The Brooder

Nov 17, 2009
    Woodland, PA
    I have pine shavings on the floor and straw in the nest box. I also used golf balls in the nest box. As for where they sleep mine still sleep different places. If you use golf balls leave them in there a few weeks after they start laying.

3. PepsNick

PepsNick Back to Business

May 9, 2010
    Egglanta, GA