egg laying changes

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by ChillyChicken, Oct 11, 2012.

1. ChillyChicken

ChillyChicken Out Of The Brooder

Aug 9, 2012
    Chiloquin, OR
    This is my first year with chickens as an adult, and I have done much research on this site, and have learned much from those who post regularly.
    In late April I got my first chicks, and all but one of them have started laying. The RSL started laying in August, laying an egg a day until this week (6 weeks). Last week one of the BO's started laying, the other BO started today.The RIR has yet to lay.
    I started them on fermented feed in early September, and they free range for several hours every day. I also give them vegetable scraps and meal worms as treats. All the girls are in apparent good health, none sluggish or moody. There was a brief time I had to go on egg hunts, but locking them in the coop until "after egg" fixed that.

I am aware that weather and season can affect laying, but to have the "production red" quit suddenly, and at the same time that others start has me a bit curious, almost concerned. Is there something I need to look out for?

2. thebanthams

thebanthams Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 12, 2010
    Safford, Arizona
    Everythig you thinking is right, how much light are they getting? try putting golf balls in their nest.

3. ChillyChicken

Aug 9, 2012
    Chiloquin, OR