Egg Laying/not laying & what's the correct feed

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by PolishChickMama, Jan 18, 2019.

1. PolishChickMama

PolishChickMama Chirping

Apr 29, 2018
    Question about egg laying. I'm fairly new to having chickens (will be 1 year in March). We have 2 polish hens. They started laying in September 2018 and stopped laying in October 2018. We figured it was because the days had started to get shorter and/or they were molting. When should we expect our girls to start laying again? Should we be worried since they still aren't laying? Should I put the fake eggs (golf balls) back in the next boxes (I took them out after they started laying). Also, we have continued to feed them the layer feed all through this winter even after they stopped laying - is that ok? Thank you for any advice you can give!

2. nchls school

nchls school Crowing

Apr 22, 2015
    Scotts Hill, TN
    My polish hens haven't laid in a couple months. I continue with the layer mash as I have other breeds that are laying. We also feed house scrapes and some multi grains. The polish hens will start laying again in the spring. My half polish are laying; much better than the pure breed ever did. Oddly, my half polish are crossed with phoenix, another breed not known to be prolific egg layers.

3. Hens will stop laying in the winter and their production drops while they are molting; Polish are mainly ornamental breeds and they naturally are not very productive layers. Your hens will probably begin laying once they finish their molt and once the weather warms; feeding them layer feed throughout the season is fine as long as you offer other foods such as occasional vegetable treats. Good luck!

4. PolishChickMama

PolishChickMama Chirping

Apr 29, 2018