Egg Laying

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by tour1018, Nov 14, 2011.

1. tour1018

tour1018 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 4, 2011
    This is my first year having chickens and I have a group of 6 (2 Dominques, 2 Marans and 2 Spanish) that were hatched on June 21st, they are 21 weeks old today. My question is, does the time of year (Season) affect the beginning of egg laying. I'm adding 4 hours of extra light in the mornings also to help. Thanks, Michelle

Last edited: Nov 14, 2011
  2. aoxa

aoxa Overrun With Chickens

From what I understand, pullets in their first year are not deterred by the shorter daylight hours as older hens are.

3. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

You're doing all you can. A pullet will begin to lay when her body is ready and it tells her to lay. I'll happen.

4. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    [​IMG] Welcome to the forum! [​IMG] Glad you joined us! [​IMG]

You are talking about starting laying. That's a bit different than continuing to lay through the winter. My first year pullets that start to lay in summer or fall usually lay through the winter and all the next laying season. So if yours start laying, I'd expect them to lay until they molt in fall/winter of 2012.

The latest I have had come into lay was mid-October. Days were shorter than 12 hours, but not by a lot. I've never had any the right age to start later, so I have not experienced that. I've got two this year that should be the right age to start laying sometime in December. Guess I'll find out for myself in another month. Days don't get much shorter than in December and I don't provide extra light.