Egg Mystery/Question?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by duckins, Mar 8, 2013.

1. duckins

duckins Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 29, 2012
    Gladys, Va
    Well it's day 4 of getting an egg! I got my first ever egg 4 days ago cleaning their lot I found it you would have thought I found money I was so excited! I have in this lot 8 hens 4 white crested they are 3 1/2 mon. 2 buffs and 2 black Swedish that are 4 1/2 mon. Here's the question I feel by the color it's one of the buffs plus makes since their older but its always left in or near the house the crest use I rarely catch my other 4 in that house when they choose they use their house.Here's what's odd keep in mind I've only had hens since October so I'm new to this tue/wed morn small egg each morn laid in same exact spot [​IMG] thurs morn a little bigger left in same area but in the back of the house. This morn a lot bigger egg in same spot as thurs but almost all the way buried. Here's thurs/fri eggs[​IMG] btw thurs eggs looks white not much tan. Who's laying and why hiding and why are eggs getting larger. Also I bring them in and refridge right away is this ok?

2. countrygoddess

countrygoddess Chillin' With My Peeps

Pullets' eggs start off small because their reproductive systems are new at making eggs. The eggs will quickly get bigger as their systems settle into the job of laying. But also because their systems are new at this job, you may get IMMENSE eggs once in a while (I once got a 4 1/4 oz egg from a girl who had been laying only one week) and you may also get double- and triple-yolkers (that huge egg was a triple). But again, that will all settle out.